We are the old people……


This is the last spread for the Women’s Spirit 121 journal project with Shakti. I wanted to depict visually how everything in life is both ending and beginning. My starting point was a chant which I adore and which is normally sung in the round: “We are the old people, we are the new people, we are the old people, stronger than before”.
I collaged the background with many faces/images which I over printed twice . I then added the spirals, one which has the chant written upon it. Lastly I stitched in an ad hoc crazy patchwork fashion. I wanted to incorporate stitch as, apart from adding cohesion, stitch/sewing is a very womany symbol. (I recommend the Subversive Stitch – great reading ).

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We are the old people……

  1. Linda D. says:

    Jill, I love these pages, and the rest of the work that you’ve done in this 121. The stitching is a wonderful touch, joining the elements together. Lovely spread!

  2. Alis says:

    Wonderful work Jill. I love the images you have used and the way you have pulled it all together with the stitching.Hugs, Alis

  3. Jill says:

    Thankyou both :)xxx

  4. Kari says:

    I LOVE all the work you have done in this swap with Shakti, it has beena subject that you have really enjoyed exploring, I can tell.These pages are SUPERB and I love the whole idea of the sewing, too.I can also recommend “The Subversive Stitch” – it is a really thought provoking book and if my memory serves me well, led me on to the whole Marie de France obsession a few years back, LOL.Hugs,Kari x

Leave a Reply

