Fantasy Dictionary


Susan Letham is compiling a Fantasy Dictionary – she has sent out a list of words to be defined by the recipients and illustrated in line with those definitions.
These are my contribution. As with the poetry postcards, I thought this would be really difficult, it certainly was challenging but I thoroughly enjoyed it and if I have time, I will do more.
The definitions are:

Quinanis: qui-NAN-is, noun. An ancient race, protectors of the forests of Earth. The young are born and reared in burrows beneath the roots of mature trees. On reaching adolescence they move to the treetops where they spend the rest of their lives keeping the old groves free from harm – they are invisible to the naked human eye.

Frungosk: FRUN-gosk, noun. A particular rare species of toadstool used purely for decoration in headdresses of young maidens attending the Beltane rituals. Once a maiden reaches the age of maturity, i.e. that she is eligible to stay for the moonlit celebrations, the Frungosk is worn on an especially woven belt to signify her right to choose a mate.

Afansatea: A-fan-SATEA, a-fan-satya, noun. A display of plummage in order to attract a mate.
Originally ascribed only to the bird population it is now used in common parlance to describe the preening rituals of humans of either gender prior to a night out, in the hopes of attracting a mate.

Plar: PLAR, verb. To embellish, decorate, etch any natural occurring surface, with particular reference to the sacred, spiritual or religious, as in cave paintings, carvings on standing stones etc.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fantasy Dictionary

  1. Kari says:

    These are GREAT, Jill – I found them so much fun too. Frungosk is my favourite, LOL, though I do rather like the sound of those Quinanis, Quinanii for the plural?Hugs,Kari x

  2. Linda D. says:

    Ooh these are wonderful and great fun.My favourite has to be Quinanis, I’m just convinced that these little beings exist :>hugs, Linda.

  3. Alis says:

    Fabulous. I love them all.Hugs, Alis

  4. Skippy says:

    These are sooo cool. I love this idea.Skippy xx

  5. marion says:

    what a splendid idea…I love it. And your definitions, too.

Leave a Reply

