Slash n' burn Quiltie

This month’s theme was slash n’ burn.  Now I would assume that there is a particular technique to this but I am ignorant of it so what I did was to make a piece, using the journal techniques in the sectionals then slashed ’em and burned some of the threads and fabric and quite a bit more actually – I used a heat gun, not a craft one and mistakenly put it on the highest setting so a lot more got burned than I intended, plus I set off the smoke alarms which I couldn’t switch off because of the probs with my arms lol – so all in all quite an adventure.  Some of us should not be left on our own too long ;).   Anyhow, once I had gathered all the bits up I stitched them together again with different placement.    This would be the result:

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Collage, Mixed-Media, Quilties, Textiles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slash n' burn Quiltie

  1. Alis Clair says:

    Great piece Linda and you did just the sort of thing I do, setting off the alarms. Glad you had fun ;0)

  2. Barbara says:

    It IS a lovely piece–and you gave me a good laugh! Do be careful, though.

  3. Claire says:

    LOL! Hope you’ve still got your eyebrows, Claire xx

  4. Linda D. says:

    Ooh sounds like you had fun, lol. The end result looks great, though, I do love the colours…

Leave a Reply

