SJJ – Misfits

For this spread we had to randomly let our pen/pencil wander about the page without thought or attempting to create anything in particular.  Then, as in cloud watching, look to see if there was a figure within and draw it out, this would be representative of ourselves at a time when we felt to be a misfit. I don’t have a problem with feeling like a misfit or an outsider – often if I get these feelings now it is an indication that perhaps the people I am with are just not on my ‘wavelength’, nothing more, nothing less – and as an adult I have choices.

To do this I shut my eyes to draw the lines as my first attempt was much too contrived, so I gessoed it out and went again.  We had to journal around our figure – I ended up with two which came as no real surprise to me:

I have a sneaking suspicion these figures may say more about me than I realise :).

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Art Journals, Soul Journey Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SJJ – Misfits

  1. woodnymph says:

    I’m looking forward to your posts and the delights included in them.

    Vi

  2. kate says:

    awww so cute :o)

  3. Fran says:

    Charming figures, color so very apt. Fran

  4. Steph says:

    Wonderful. I know of this Misfitism. It is a form of mysticism, did you know? A wild but painful genius. Your work is not pretty, Jill. *GUFFAW*!!! Yes, says I. Not pretty at all! It’s more beautiful than the “pretty” associated with decoration. Lord, you should see what I’ve been hanging on my walls these days. I would be labelled all manner of illnesses by the creatively blind and dull-witted! I feel your work and words even more deeply than what I on screen.

    Good gracious, child, but you are a wild genius in these hallowed halls. CONTINUE! CONTINUE! You are not alone amid this coven of creative misfits, and we’re glad you’re here to grow with us.

    steph

  5. paintinglady says:

    Ooooh, a creature that wears a shell, eh? Interesting…

    I like what Steph says (above), that art doesn’t have to look pretty to be meaningful. I agree wholeheartedly.

    Your art is always moving, Jill, you reveal a lot about yourself, despite the shell, lol!

    Hugs,
    Kari x

  6. murcha says:

    Love the caption on the lower pic. Just love the colours as they keep the eyes roving around all the detail about them.

  7. shewolfy728 says:

    These are really neat, Jill. I like the idea behind this, too.

Leave a Reply

