Behind the scenes

After finishing the initial part of the Wild Mother herself I felt a little stuck.  Much thinking time – then plotting and planning on paper before any further commitment to cloth takes place:

First a sidetrack: playing with crow:sketchbook-4th-march

How to proceed:

keridwens-cauldron-4th-march

keridwens-cauldron-5th-march

I think I prefer the standing figure, though some adjustments to the ‘arms’ needs to take place, but this I can do when transferring the idea to the cloth before stitching.   The cauldron I shall work separately and appliqué to the cloth.

Looking at this again now I think I want to explore her pose more fully – try different options – standing definitely – but arms may be extended……don’t know yet.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Baba Yaga/Wild Mother, Cauldron, Cloth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Behind the scenes

  1. shewolfy728 says:

    Jill, she is lovely, and the standing one particularly so.

  2. lee says:

    awesome crow! but I am biased!

    Yeah – wool in the microwave with food coloring and vinegar, piece of cake.

  3. Linda D says:

    Good to see your notes, so pleased this is helping you decide what to do next! Love that crow 🙂 And the figure with the cauldron is lovely. Perhaps she could be putting something in the cauldron? Or stirring it? Although I’m sure you’ll come up with much better ideas 🙂

  4. Alis Clair says:

    It is great to see your working method. Very personal so thank you for sharing.

    I like the standing figure too and I like the idea of her arms outstretched. I would get the idea she is incanting something.

    Love that crow ;0)

  5. June says:

    thanks for sharing your process i like the standing figure too, but think i’d like her arms moving too…

  6. Pingback: Cauldron bubbling……. « Land of Dreaming

Leave a Reply

