Cauldron bubbling…….

At last I have had the time and inclination to get started on the cauldron.  I am working this off cloth and will attach it to the whole once all the surface stitching has been done

Step 1:

cauldron-1

The backing is calico.  I tie-dyed a small piece of cotton for the central yoni-shaped heart of the cauldron.

Step 2:

cauldron-2

Looking through my stash I came across this piece of cotton with all the lovely arches which I thought would work well for the rest of the cauldron, as per my sketch.  However, the colour is definitely not right, much too light and bright – I want earth colours – so:

Step 3:

cauldron-3

I mixed up some blue and some yellow procion dyes to get a sludgy green and painted the arches fabric to see what would happen.  It paled somewhat once dry but I am happy enough with it – once stitching has been done to the surface the look  and the colour will change again.

Step 4:

cauldron-4

This picture was taken outside and shows the colours a little better.  It is all tacked/basted and now ready for stitching.

There is movement again.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Baba Yaga/Wild Mother, Cauldron, Process and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cauldron bubbling…….

  1. June says:

    (” that’s interesting (:- its really coming alive.

  2. Alis Clair says:

    Yes, the fabric pattern is right and the colour is just right now too.
    Looking good.

  3. Lori says:

    I enjoy watching the creative process in action. And I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  4. Linda D. says:

    Love what you’re doing, and enjoyed reading about the process, thanks 🙂 Looking forward to seeing how it develops – impatient as always, lol!!!

Leave a Reply

