Cauldron bubbling………

This is turning out to be a truly slow “slow cloth” ….. However, the pure enjoyment and pleasure in the process continues.

The cauldron is now complete:

Cauldron complete May

Some closer views:

Cauldron stitch 3

Cauldron stitch 2

Cauldron top

Next, more work on the Wild Mother/Baba Yaga/Cailleach herself  :).

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Baba Yaga/Wild Mother, Cauldron, Embroidery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cauldron bubbling………

  1. willingness says:

    I am astounded by the beauty of this piece, Jill. It is artists like you who make me yearn to work with cloth and thread. You are always an inspiration to me.

    Question…is that regular thread, or embroidery floss you’re using? Tell me where to begin! I feel I must explore this medium along with you.

    steph

  2. celticsea says:

    Can you bottle your patience and sell it to your fellow artists? What a tremendous piece of art!

  3. senua says:

    ok, i second steph’s question: what size floss are you using? particularly for the top of the cauldron. i am so very tempted to start something in this medium, but i have several projects to finish in felt and yarn. damn the time limits of the day! couldn’t we figure out something to stretch out the days a little? i think the cauldron is perfect.

  4. Gail says:

    This is fantastic, Jill. I’m a very plain sewer, and I am amazed at what artistry can be wrought.

  5. Sally says:

    I have many friends who expresee themselves through quilting. Your storytelling in this piece is magnificent! This is the most amazing cauldron. It looks so different as a whole than it does in detail up close. I can really appreciate the workmanship in the closeups! I need a bottle of that patience, too, please!

  6. lori says:

    The detailing on this piece is amazing! You know, stories are told by more than words. This speaks volumes!

  7. Cora says:

    “Slow cloth” sounds wonderful and the joy of attention to detail shows in your beautiful cauldron. I’m inspired.

  8. traveller says:

    have you sewn transparent sequins on to this piece?

  9. kvwordsmith says:

    This is rich & lovely…

  10. woodnymph says:

    This is so beautiful. Such intricate work. You must have the patience of Job.

    Vi

  11. pearlz says:

    thanks for sharing this (:

  12. Tabitha says:

    Wow-I am utterly astounded. How beautiful. So work and craftsmanship.

  13. Becky says:

    I’m always glad that you show the close-ups as well as the big picture because I can then see more clearly all the details of your stitching. I love the overall views too, to provide the map, but the details show more of the amazing pattern and texture you’re weaving into this cloth. Looking forward to the next episode.

  14. Maz says:

    Mmm the close ups of the cauldron stitching are fab, such textural all round gorgeousness! ;o) I should get over more often, this is such a great piece and watching it unfold is so amazing. Excellent work, my friend! ;o)

  15. Linda D. says:

    Been far too long since I surfed blogs, lol.
    Missed this at the time, but want to say how gorgeous it is, all that superb stitching. Wonderful piece, Jill!!!

Leave a Reply

