and then there was this:

A small group of friends decided we would set ourselves a sketchbook challenge.  That challenge was to fill a small (A6) sketchbook in seven days.  We could choose our own theme and work in any medium – the only proviso being that if anyone used photos in their book,  you would have to do three sketches to each photo used.

I chose to go with a theme that arose in a spread I did for the soul journal project which is “In Gaia’s Garden”.   It is a theme I will continue to explore and develop, definitely using some of the ideas that were very quickly put to paper during this challenge.  I haven’t included every single page of the sketchbook as there is a fair bit of repetition.

It was a great idea and a good experience – one I shall certainly do again.

2-3

3-45-67-8block print carved from polystyreneBorage leaf print acrylic on paper and linenleaf print - inktense pencilmulti leaf rubbing on linenLino block printseed studies 1seed studies 2seeds couched on leaf rubbed linenseeds couched on leaf rubbed linen

Ivy outline over leaf printed paperivy outline on leaf-printed paper

Cactus study from magazine pictureCactus study 2 + 3Cactus study 4Tree - colour study watercolourTree - colour study pastel 1Tree - colour study pastel 2Seed openingseed opening-earth

Airair

Woodwood

Sister circleSister Circle

Imagination sketchSeed-human doodleseed-human doodle

sketch on thoughts of healing handsthoughts on healing hands

Sketch - expanding on thoughts of humans as seeds

more playing with the human-plant connectionmore playing with the human/plant connection.

That’s it ……….seeing these again fills me with ideas once more – ideas sketchbooks are definitely a great asset.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in In Gaia's Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to and then there was this:

  1. Anita Marie says:

    that was very, very very cool Jill

  2. Tonya Ashe says:

    Wow! Such a wonderful sketchbook. I enjoyed my journey through your pictures.
    Blessings, peace, and love to you,
    ~Tonya

  3. Lori says:

    What a fabulous concept! I especially like “Sister Circle”.

  4. Anne Gaal says:

    Hi, Jill! What a perfect, inspirational art journal! I love that you included written ideas, thumbnail sketches, color studies, and more. Soooo cool! I especially like that you and your friends challenged each other! What fun! 🙂

  5. Becky says:

    Great to see more from your book, I remember loving it at the time and I do again now. By coincidence I am just now going back to my sketchbook from that challenge as a springboard for what I’m starting to do now.

  6. Linda D. says:

    As you know, I think your sketchbook was wonderful and so full of inspiration and ideas. Good to see it here 🙂

  7. celticsea says:

    What a great project! I like the idea of a focus to the book. Maybe now that school is over I will try it!

  8. kvwordsmith says:

    what a delight to share your sketchbook! To see the artist’s mind at play/work – fertile ground indeed…

  9. loved the bird zetangle and the leaf prints. Thank you for a fascinating glimpse into your sketchbook. Filling a sketchbook in 7 days is no mean feat!

  10. Sarah Joyce Bryant says:

    Those are absolutely beautiful! It was amazing to get to see the process as it unfolded. I am sure it was no small feat to get all of those pages on your blog.

  11. porchsitter says:

    Very inspiring! So many sketches and such great variety of mediums, thoughts and visuals. I love especially the linen leaves and also the switch to color and the human/plant connection–wonderful!

    One week? Whew!

  12. Tabitha says:

    This is simply stunning.

  13. Sally says:

    What a fun project! I loved that there were so many sketches in different mediums. My favorite is the circle of sisters and the ivy leaf. I can’t believe you did all of this in a week! It would take me much longer.

    Thank you for sharing your stunning sketches. You are very, very good!

  14. cydlee61 says:

    what a fab idea and oh my what a beautiful job you did!

  15. pearlz says:

    wow they look brilliant!

  16. Suzanne says:

    What a great idea. It’s truly inspirational. I love the progression of the drawings. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

