May and June Quilties

I really must keep up with posting here.  I am trying to work out a way to combine my blogs – I feel I am compartmentalising  rather than presenting a whole, something I am familiar with in terms of my thinking.  However, I am finding it much more difficult than I imagined.

In the meantime, here are the quilties :

May theme was free – I decided to use some multi-dyed cotton cut into strips, woven together again into two pieces, the one placed diagonally onto the other …then the stitching – my favourite part.

May 09 Quiltie

June theme: Birds, Butterflies and/or Bees.  I chose birds – this one may look very familiar if you followed the sketchbook entry – i took it directly from one of the sketches – it works for me!

Birds, Bees or Butterflies quiltie June 09

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to May and June Quilties

  1. almurta says:

    I love the woven May piece- how big is it? My computer’s being slow and I can’t view the second photo as yet. I’ll check back some other time.
    I know what you mean about feeling compartmentalized with blogs all over the place. I agree. I’m trying to figure out how to sort out mine too.
    Cheers – Suzanne

  2. Lori says:

    I know what you mean about multiple blogs. I started off by having different blogs — one for photography, one for short stories, etc. Now I have just one blog for everything but I put a separate page for each area containing a link to each category. That seems to have solved the problem of having everything in one place, yet separated. Sort of like a notebook with section dividers.

  3. Sarah Joyce Bryant says:

    They both are stunningly beautiful! Oh, the one with the birds – just amazing!

  4. What patience you have! And what beautiful work you have created!

  5. kvwordsmith says:

    you achieve such wonderful movement and vibrancy in your sewn work – just lovely & amazing!

  6. cronelogical says:

    So much to enjoy here, I know that revising the blogs is sometimes necessary but it is so easy to leave them–good luck, Fran

  7. Karen says:

    I love your stitched pieces. They remind me of all of the sewing my family has done in the past and yet they have come at the art in another creative way! Thank you for the feeling of home and joy in your creativity!

  8. Karen says:

    ps. I like the fact that your drawing has become your needlework as well!

  9. pearlz says:

    i really admire your work (:

  10. Linda D says:

    Jill, as you know, I love both of these. Wonderful quilties.

    I can empathise with the lack of blogging, too, my own has been woefully neglected of late – and I only have one! Hope you find a solution to the problem of combining them.

  11. kate says:

    i so love these tiny little stitches and the garden sketchbook is full of wonder.

  12. woodnymph says:

    I can’t even sew on a button but when I see such works of art I am stunned by the beauty and the complexity. Such talent you have.

    Vi

  13. cydlee61 says:

    Your work is stunning!

  14. Tabitha says:

    These are SO stunning!

Leave a Reply

