Wise Woman 1

For some years I seem to have been creating pictures in various media of older women – the Crones in my psyche I suppose.   This is one such, painted with acrylics on hessian,  that I don’t think I have shared before – she hangs on my small landing beneath a window where she greets me each time I climb or descend the stairs.

Grandmother-Crone

I am extraordinarily fond of her.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Hanging, painting, Wise Women Crones and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wise Woman 1

  1. stephanie hansen says:

    I can see why! She’s absolutely wonderful, Jill! The wonders of your talent never cease to inspire me. Thanks.

    Steph

  2. celticsea says:

    She looks so wise, but with a sense of humor!

  3. Sally says:

    Oh, she’s wonderful! The experience and wisdom she wears on her face is ethereal. It’s a face that I would like to greet me daily! I like the medium, with the earth and native colors. It’s indigenous by ingenius!

  4. Lori says:

    What a delightful face! I wouldn’t mind seeing her each morning as well.

  5. thalia says:

    You’ve captured the twinkle in her eyes

  6. June says:

    I think she looks wise, gentle and like she can tell a good story.

  7. cronelogical says:

    She is charming. Fran

  8. almurta says:

    Gosh that’s beautiful Jill. There is such humour and wisdom in that face.

  9. gwenguin1 says:

    Jill sweetie,

    Her smile is like a hug and kiss from your favourite Grandma. She is absolutely lovely. I love her already, and I haven’t gotten close to her yet.

    Hugs,
    GwenGuin

  10. Linda D. says:

    Oh she’s such a beautiful crone! Very ‘knowing’ with a touch of playfulness and caring, too. No wonder you love her. You’re so talented, Jill, that is an extremely good painting, wonderful.

  11. woodnymph says:

    She is so real, so wise, and with a twinkle in her eye. You have captured her expression so well.

    Vi

  12. Tabitha says:

    She is so vibrant and alive.
    Such a beauty.

  13. Jill says:

    Thank you all for your wonderful comments – I am so glad I shared her with you all 🙂

  14. Maz says:

    She’s wonderful, Jill, so wise and gentle. Love that she’s painted on hessian too. ;o) Thanks for sharing her with us.

    Maz x

  15. porchsitter says:

    Love her and would love to meet and know her! She must bring you great joy!

  16. kvwordsmith says:

    Ditto what they said – what a friendly presence – probably reminds you to be kinder to yourself, as you huff & puff up & down the stairs – St. Francis used to call the body “Brother Ass” – I am sure this crone would have a fitting title for us older gals, like “Sister Ox”…

  17. senua says:

    what a lovely, wise face! if she were in my house, i would talk to her frequently.

  18. kate heshan says:

    the face of a wise woman – good to see this.

  19. This is really gorgeous Jill. I think you have captured an aspect of Hestia. Beautiful work.

  20. Karen says:

    Beautiful and Inspiring. Thank you.\

  21. Sarah Joyce Bryant says:

    She is beautiful! What a wonderful way to be greated!

  22. Janice Brooks says:

    Intrigue and confidence. She is indeed a treshold sentry.

  23. mimilove says:

    I love her serene expression…and that hair…LOVE IT! x:)

Leave a Reply

