A Crow in the Hand ……

is worth ?   Well in this case about two to three weeks work with life etc intervening of course.

I took the sketch from my book and printed it onto cotton, adhered this to the cloth and begun to fill in with stitching.  For the next one, and I am more than sure there will be at least one other crow on this cloth, I shall work it off-cloth and then appliqué – it was very fiddly doing it the way I did as the stitching is so heavy and dense, think that’s why it has taken so long.   This beautify measures 9″ from the tip of her tail feathers to the tip of  her beak. Apologies again for the quality, or lack thereof,  of the pics – have finally realised it is not the camera but the operator with the shakes that creates  the blurs :).

one foot crow ii

two foot crow

Crow 1

Crow ii

Crow head

Crow iii

Crow finished

WM August 16

and finally, blowing in the wind:

Wild Mother August 16

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Baba Yaga/Wild Mother, Cloth, Embroidery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Crow in the Hand ……

  1. Maz says:

    Oh, she’s beautiful, Jill! ;o) The stitching is fab and I love her position on the cloth, looking forward to seeing more appear. ;o)

  2. Kerry says:

    She’s a crow worthy of her rookery!

  3. Matilda says:

    beautiful! I love the placement of the crow. it’s as if he (she?) is trying to figure out if the woman came out of the pot. Your stitching is precise and brings more life like qualities to the crow. The fabrics used for the pot are so lovely. Awesome!

  4. Anita Marie says:

    Oh WOW Jill, you are one gifted crafty person!

  5. Stephanie says:

    This whole piece gets more impossibly beautiful all the time. I am enthralled with your creativity and patience.

    sTeph

  6. Linda D. says:

    Beautiful! Well done – definitely worth all that work 🙂

  7. Suzanne says:

    Wow – that is just beautiful. I love the way you have embroidered the crow and her placement of the cloth is perfect. I haven’t seen images of this larger work before – I’m just blown away – it’s staggeringly beautiful. I love the golden cauldron in the front too – it looks 3D.

  8. Lori says:

    Applause!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Well done!!! And I love the detail work on the crow — the stitching looks like real feathers.

    Take a bow, Jill.

  9. thalia says:

    such precise stitching on a wonderful design. I don’t know how you do it, but keep going.

  10. cronelogical says:

    What a wonderful expression. Fran

  11. This renders me speechless Jill. I am just going to sit quietly and take in all the detail. Such precision! Such patience and talent! Breathtaking really!

  12. senua says:

    so excited….the crow’s stitching looks like actual FEATHERS. i am so blown away by the total piece. baba yaga becomes more majestic every time i see her.

  13. your crow is quite magnificent and when the whole quilt is finished I have the feeling it will be something of a masterpiece

  14. Raven says:

    ohmygosh–that is just so incredible…..

  15. What an amazing amount of work you are putting into this. I am in awe!

Leave a Reply

