Sssssssomething sssstirring ….

I have had this double headed snake for many years.

snake 1

It started life as part of a large batik I made some fifteen years ago.  The cloth faded badly so I machine stitched the snake with the intention of either re-dying then stitching the original cloth or painting it.  It has been waiting for me to do so ever since.  A month or so ago I dug out my lovely snake, thinking she would fit onto this cloth perhaps but was very wary of cutting it from the original cloth -what if it all fell apart???  Last week, after finishing crow and before starting the seeds and a tree I think, I decided to just go for it.  I cut her from the cloth!

snakehead 2

snakehead3

My original thoughts were around trying to fit her onto the cloth intact – that was just not going to work …..  so….. after taking a very deep breath …. I cut her up so that I could place her appropriately onto this cloth.  I faffed about for ages, placing bits here and there, pinning, maneuvering, hanging it on the wall for days until I was satisfied.

I have now stitched the pieces in place and am more than happy with the result.

snakefive

snaketwo

I shall take a clearer picture of the whole cloth once the wind here dies down … could be a while.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sssssssomething sssstirring ….

  1. kvwordsmith says:

    she’s a lovely serpent, she is…brave girl to snip your beauty, but the results are worth it!

  2. Stephanie says:

    You absolutely amaze me! What an incredible amount of work was done on that snake! The detail is stunning. Stunning!

    LOL I am also in the midst of repurposing older artwork and, yes, I too hung it on the wall and hemmed and hawed and fussed. Could I do it? WOULD I do it? Argh! LOL Lovely to be in synch with an artist of your calibre, Jill.

  3. Lori says:

    This really makes the image, Jill. The snake pulls the image together. What a great idea.

  4. Suzanne says:

    Brilliant stuff. This bold move really makes the whole work come together. I saw an interview with an artist on TV last night – he said all good art work involves risk taking and a passage through chaos and fear. Your work really shows you have negotiated this passage brilliantly.

  5. Linda D. says:

    Courage has its rewards – your snakes are superb additions to your cloth and well worth the fear, apprehension and fussing!!! Loving how your cloth looks, improves every time you do more to it. Brilliant!

  6. senua says:

    how amazing. the snakes are ssssssoooo perfect 🙂 they provide a border in addition to giving the piece a new element. they blend beautifully with the blues below the cauldron and bring out the golds in the cauldron. absolutely fabulous.

  7. Given the presence of the serpent in almost everything I do you will appreciate what an appreciative audience I am. This is simply divine Jill.

  8. Oh my gosh…it took such strength to cuit her up….but oh…the results are so amazing and beautiful….

  9. Janice Brooks says:

    Psss she is divine. Absolutely stunning

  10. just the perfect addition to what is a perfectly beautiful piece of work

Leave a Reply

