Block 3

I have certainly taken my time over this one, computer problems and life intervening of course.  The block is a hand-pieced mix of linen, cottons and Japanese and Indian silks.  The goddess figure is silk hand appliquéd.  I am going to try to do everything by hand on this cloth.

Pieced ground:

Close-up of figure:

Batik circle:

Green dyed circle:

Batik circle overlaid with green organza:

Complete for now, more stitching etc will be added when the blocks are pieced into a whole:

Been feeling I have lost direction of late – not really sure what is going on – the intervention of  life/health events always cause bumps and glitches I know, those dreaded days of non-inspiration creep up on me as a result.  Probably what I need to do is pick something up and just stitch those thoughts and feelings away.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in In Gaia's Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Block 3

  1. Edith says:

    This is beautiful!! Your stitching is perfect and I simply adore your goddess. I too am working on a goddess embroidery, but mine is based on the Indian kantha quilting tradition.

  2. Suzanne says:

    It’s beautiful Jill. The goddess figure seems to radiate energy. I know what you mean about floundering about for direction though. The aches and pains of fibro do make it hard to focus sometimes.
    Keeping the hands busy does seem to help.

  3. My goodness Jill. I am in complete awe. No wonder this took ages. This is absolutely gorgeous. It would be wonderful to see the real thing. I have a feeling that the images cannot capture the beauty completely.

  4. pearlz says:

    This is so intricate Jill, well done!

  5. celticsea says:

    Stitching your stress away sounds like a great plan – especially for someone like you and with your talents. Your pictures are beautiful!

  6. kvwordsmith says:

    by a goddess, for a goddess, of a goddess! Stunning, gorgeous work!

  7. sammiam says:

    Lovely work Jill. Hand stitching is the answer for each of life’s questions and problems! Enjoy! xo

  8. Laura says:

    Be gentle on yourself, the work will come when it is the right time. It has taken me logn enough to get to that point!

Leave a Reply

