Starting over ….

I was not happy with the way I was approaching the Gaia’s Garden cloth.  Something about the blocks was not appealing to me.  Answer, start again.  I like the effect of weaving strips of fabric, the first two blocks I made were done this way.  I decided that I would make this the basis of blocks which would then be pieced to make the ground/quilt top, onto which I shall appliqué, embroider, layer etc.  The images I had created so far, the cat, moon, goddess will not go to waste, they will reappear here somewhere.

I have pieced, so far, 108 strips of earth coloured fabrics:

Pinning down:

First block basted:

I am not sure of the overall design of the base yet, am playing around with a couple of  ideas.  In the meantime I shall continue to weave and baste the blocks which are 12″ square.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in In Gaia's Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting over ….

  1. pearlz says:

    You are creating a sense of mystery here and I am waiting to see what happens next!

  2. almurta says:

    Yes it does have a mysterious look – like something is evolving. I like the way the brown patterned flower shape jumps out visually.

  3. kvwordsmith says:

    As Sherlock would say, “The game is afoot!” Who knows what mysteries you will unwind as you explore these clues to your puzzle…

  4. Linda D. says:

    Mmmmmm. Intriguing work, and beautiful colours. Looking forward to seeing it evolve 🙂

Leave a Reply

