A little piece of calm

I felt the need/desire to stitch something peaceful, calming and on predominantly white cotton, cooling in the heat.  I had received a package of indigo dyed fabric pieces  from Glennis, amongst which was this  frail offering:

11cm x 15cm

Don’t ask me why but I love it, perhaps because of its frailty.  The dark blue in the top left-hand corner is a piece of linen I attached.

Inspired by Boro textiles I used scraps of white and off-white cottons, pieced and stitched as a background:

I am delighted by the simplicity of this small hanging .

Part of me is itching to do more to it – always been a fiddler, but I will leave it alone – it is done.

34cm x 60cm

Now that it is cooled down somewhat I shall return to Gaia’s Garden cloth …… probably ………

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Cloth, Embroidery, Hanging, Textiles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A little piece of calm

  1. Lori says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing this piece progress.

  2. woodymph says:

    Such delicacy…such patience. I am not a stitcher but I have great admiration for those who are able to create with needle and thread.

    Vi

  3. Gilli says:

    Perfection. Beautiful stitching. Very calming to look at.

  4. soulsister says:

    I love the simplicity and the purity of this piece.

  5. Becky says:

    This is so beautiful, and I can appreciate the difficulty of leaving it alone as I’m exactly the same! Perfect antidote to all this heat. I made a fabric paper piece recently which started quite similarly to your white/cream layer but ended very differently!

  6. Steph Hansen says:

    Wonderful! I love it, Jill! I verily do think you have turned me in “a stitcher”. Now that my traditional artwork is on the walls for the exhibition I have been putting away those supplies in anticipation of comforting myself with some simple, sweet stitching for the sake of itself. I think you can understand that. Kudos, sister stitcher. A lovely piece, as always.

  7. imogen88 says:

    Lovely and ethereal, a good piece of calm!

  8. almurta says:

    Beautiful work – I love the delicate yet frayed look.

  9. Linda D. says:

    Oh, a great piece, so calming and peaceful – I do so admire your ability to create these stitched artworks. And I can understand that urge to add something more – I’m another one who fiddles, and often ruins things by doing so. Hope you resist, this work is wonderful just as it 🙂

  10. Jill says:

    Thank you all for your encouraging comments, much appreciated 🙂

  11. kvwordsmith says:

    thank you for sharing the calm – and the coolness!

  12. Cle says:

    Very pretty Jill

  13. laralorelei says:

    Stunning piece Jill, I can see why you felt the need to put aside your other work to do this. I love the contrast you’ve created between the fragile indigo dyed fabric and the sturdiness of the pieced background. C xx

  14. t says:

    your stitch and dye work is beautiful jill

    xt

  15. Karen Turner says:

    Beautifully simple; a lot of stitches, but subtle and understated. That takes skill. Well done indeed.

Leave a Reply

