At long last ……….

Blimey, where have I been … I had no idea that it had been three months since I last blogged, where does it go?   Hmmm, perhaps some socks, the  pulling up of which is required;  or, or,  it could be just that I have had nothing to say or show.  I think the latter is the case really, I have been quiet but that’s ok, in fact that’s good.  I have been stitching, nearly all leaves have now fallen onto the Gaia cloth … to be shown at a later date – hopefully not three months hence!

I am here right now because, like many, many others I am taking part in the Sketchbook Project. Applied and received my sketchbook months ago, didn’t do anything until this last fortnight …. fairly typical ;).   I went through all sorts of procrastinations/decision-making meanderings about what medium etc and ended up back where I started with my original idea to use altered text. My reason for this is that the theme for my Sketchbook is ‘Storybook’ – seemed like a good idea at the time.  Stories are a part of everyone’s life, we all have one, or several and we express them in all sorts of ways .. words, few or many, pictures, behaviour, escapism, music, dance … you name it, someone somewhere is doing it!  Yes well, anyhow, I decided upon altered text as I like the idea of taking what was one story and making it into possibilities of several .  Each spread is a double, the words are few – do they tell the whole story? .. maybe; or perhaps they are the start of something new, or the middle, or even the end.  I don’t know, but here’s what’s happened so far:

text reads:  the full moon had a blue face     an old soul

She, hair in a single braid   She beneath the tree in the dark

text reads:  she loved to dance

text reads:  the old man   a hermit   fills the time by walking

text reads:  a pattern of a dream      an intricate design to write and sing

text reads:  wisdom  woman ethereal holds out her hand    remembers her rhythm

text reads:  questions forming     passion evoked     balance a skill

text reads:  the soft light a glimmer in this green earth

text reads:  contours quiet    The flaming sun a soul slow silent appeased

text reads:  life  a small island  one step to the next

I have uploaded these in no particular order and there are more spreads in process.  I am not sure there is any kind of order to these so they will probably be placed randomly within the sketchbook.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Sketchbook Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to At long last ……….

  1. Pelican1 says:

    I’m so glad you have posted. You are getting my creative juices flowing!

  2. Karen Turner says:

    Wonderful! Looking great; your combination of drawing and painting is really effective.

  3. Sally says:

    Bravo, my dear Jill!! Great things happen in the silence between words. You are doing some incredibly descriptive work here and I am so glad that you have shared!

  4. Suzanne says:

    This is great stuff – I just love your approach to story telling. Thanks for sharing – it’s really inspiring. I must check out that link you have given.

  5. Linda D. says:

    Brilliant pages, love them all. So glad you’ve finally started and posted, too!!! x

  6. imogen88 says:

    Loved the first one the most, so much a wonderful moon! Just as well to take some time out, beautiful inspirations, Jill!

  7. Traveller says:

    what great spreads. I love the first one too.
    I gather the sketchbook project is quite a challenge – my sister has almost finished hers. I was tempted to do one but didn’t I would be able to commit to it. Maybe next year.
    Please post the rest of your spreads when you have finished.

  8. Becky says:

    Jill these are amazing. Have you really done them all in 2 weeks? I think I could spend at least that long mulling over each one of them. In fact I might just do that! Thanks for typing out the text, I’d never have managed to read it in the images.

    My sketchbook is meandering towards a conclusion, I hope to blog it next weekend.

  9. Gina Lento says:

    Wow Jill, these are so different from what I did. Mine are more sketchy and I through in some collage and mixed media for good measure…because the paper was so thin.

    Mailed mine out the other day!

    Gina

Leave a Reply

