a few more spreads completed

for the Sketchbook Project.  I have a couple more prepped but may not have time/energy to do them before the posting date.

It has been an interesting exercise in that it has confirmed what I know so very well about myself,  give me a deadline and I will procrastinate, ignore, put aside etc. until the last, or almost last, minute.  Granted that is only interesting to me as by contrast I will work on one piece of cloth consistently for a long time.  That tells me a lot about what direction I want to take myself in, what I want to focus on for the foreseeable future.  That’s good then eh :).

text reads:  designs in muted watercolours    inner regions    promises,   imagine    listen    determine     draw

text reads:  beneath the stars a weaver catching the light

text reads:  her yarn she stitches     rags and scraps change

text reads:  Grandmother sits to tell her story

Thank you all for your comments on my previous spreads, very much appreciated.

Oh, and a very happy and creatively imaginative 2011 to you all.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Sketchbook Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a few more spreads completed

  1. Pelican1 says:

    You seemed to have gained a lot of personal insight while doing these entries, Jill. When I make art journal entries, I tend to forget that the reason is more than just to practice in a certain medium… it is still a journal and gaining insight is one of the chief reasons for working in it.

    Lori

  2. Woodnymph says:

    Fascinating. Your images are most interesting. I especially like the spider. That one touches me at an inner level. keep up the good work.

    Vi

  3. Linda D. says:

    Mmm very insightful and lovely pages. The text you’ve chosen is superb, the “rags and scraps change” was a fantastic find for you – I know how difficult it can be to ‘find’ text that suits. Love the spider pages too – actually, love them all 🙂
    Brilliant!!! Linda x

  4. Traveller says:

    I love the way you have incorporated fabric and stitches into spread 3 and the text you have “found” is just perfect

  5. imogen88 says:

    These are fabulous!

  6. pearlz says:

    I love yor storyboards Jill, always look foward to them.

    I like the beneath the stars the weaver catches light!

  7. Isn’t it great when we set out to complete a task or journal prompt and wind up in a deep meaning-making place? Found poetry is so amazingly awakening!

  8. I would love to learn this process…. so inspiring and magical. I echo all of the above sentiments….. and more!

Leave a Reply

