all the leaves

Seems they may have finally finished falling.

Because  I wove the ground from strips of cloth, and since I left ragged edges to these strips because I love that look, and since I did not secure all these fabulous edges before stitching down the leaves, or the spider, or, indeed, the web, I am now doing  just that to secure them all so they don’t fray away.  I want this cloth to be a useable one, that was my intention from the beginning, so it is important that it can be washed and used without it falling apart.   I am loving the weight and the feel of it already and would be more than a little sad if it were to disintegrate on first washing.

From the wondrous Jude I have learned to use a tiny back-stitch to secure said edges – it may take  a while but will be well worth it.

This piece measures 3′ square and will be the centre of the finished cloth.  I have not yet decided how it will grow, definitely more woven cloth I suspect but that’s as far as I have come in my thinking.  Finishing the edges is a wonderfully contemplative and, for me, deeply absorbing practice , one which I feel sure will produce ‘what comes next’.

 

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in In Gaia's Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to all the leaves

  1. porchsitter says:

    Just amazing detail and patience. As always, I am fascinated with your process of working. Beautiful. Always wish I could see the finished piece in person.

  2. Pelican1 says:

    I am in awe of your attention to detail. It would drive me made to stitch all of this. Beautiful!

  3. Fran says:

    wonderful colours. Fran

  4. Stephanie says:

    Astounding. You have drawn me entirely into your world of stitchery, Jill. I am enchanted. Your work and rythm are a delight and I thank you for the vision you have brought to my life. You are an awesome artist.

    steph

  5. Linda D. says:

    Fantastic work, your stitching is so detailed and delicate. Loving what you’ve done so far. And you can tell it’s done with love, too.
    hugs, Linda x

  6. Suzanne says:

    I agree with all the comments here – the intricate stitching is completely intriguing

  7. I can see the leaves falling..there is movement in your piece…. exquisite handwork. So happy to see this type of creativity…so different.

Leave a Reply

