Look what i found …

Whilst looking for something else I came across this piece of fabric – it’s old and faded and the surface is worn.   I bought it from a woman years ago who, after her mother’s death,  had discovered lots of pieces of cloth, all unused, all carefully folded and packaged, stored in her mother’s attic, they had been there for many, many years.  She didn’t want to cut the fabric so sold them as whole pieces.   On re-discovering this fabric I remembered what she had said and decided I would not cut it either, rather work onto and into it.  It measures 49″ x 76″, so a fair size.  Also, not my favourite colours, although I do love the feel of this aged cloth,  it is cotton and so very soft, I am very much liking the fading too.  It is nowhere near as bright as the photos make out, nor the purple so vivid … I shall try to get a more realistic picture.

whole:

dots:

dashes:

 

I have made a start adding a small piece of batik – is it a flower, a windmill, a person, a sun …………..

 

the colours remind me of a sunset – so for the time-being this is a sunset cloth.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Sunset cloth. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Look what i found …

  1. imogen88 says:

    This is a lovely respect of the source, Jill. Beautiful colours and softness.

  2. Linda D. says:

    Oh I can see you’re going to have so much fun with this, your description and love of such a faded piece comes across so strongly. Reminds me a little of an old tablecloth that my mum had. Enjoy.

  3. porchsitter says:

    Ah, a new beginning! I wonder where this will lead. 🙂

  4. Lori says:

    Amazing color!

  5. kvwordsmith says:

    A sunset cloth – a cloak of twilight – I like it!

  6. almurta says:

    What a fascinating project to take on – the colours are gorgeous

  7. Stunning work Jill. Do keep up with the stitching

  8. Your work is fascinating! A story with cloth and stitches. Eager to go on to your next post…love the mandala stitching.

Leave a Reply

