Willows’ first night

The decision/realisation that the ‘compass’ block was not going to be an integral part of the story cloth as a whole has freed me. I kept trying to make it fit as the first block, but no matter where I placed it, it wasn’t working – I could not see a way forward. I shall probably attach it to the finished cloth as an external starting point, which, in fact, is what it is.  Now I have begun on the story proper.

This first piece is Willow, after her initial day of travelling from the Guild Hall, asleep atop the hill. The background fabric felt right as the swirling nature of it represents the feel of sleep, perhaps too, dreaming. I appliquéd the pillow first, then her face which was made and stitched separately to the whole. I made a sketch of her sleeping bag, transferred that onto tea-dyed cotton and appliquéd that onto the ground.  Once this was basted into place, I overstitched the whole. I wanted the sleeping-bag to look like a cocoon – symbolic of the stage she is now in.

Here she is:

I am so much happier now as I can already see how the cloth can grow in line with the story.  Onwards 🙂

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Willow Dreaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Willows’ first night

  1. Susan says:

    What a gorgeous piece of work, Jill. The background is appropriately atmospheric and the cocoon idea works perfectly. Very well executued!

  2. Wonderful! I love seeing how your story is unfolding and I look forward to learning more about quiltmaking from you. I appreciate how you break it down. It is definitely something I want to learn for myself.

    love,
    Kalili/Erika

  3. cicadiaxiii says:

    So glad that you were able to see past some ridged thinking that had you stuck. I really like the cocoon. I appreciate you telling us how you constructed the block and the meaning the cloths had for you. You did a great job on the face!!
    Look forward to more.

  4. Linda D. says:

    She looks so safe and dreamy tucked up in her cocoon. Lovely piece. And so pleased that you’ve got over your block and restarted on her journey cloth 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

