on the ever spinning spiral back to the beginning?

These are the three blocks I have made so far for Willow Dreaming, the story cloth I started within the TAG project.  I have stopped and started, stopped and started, again and again and again – hence the three separate blocks I suppose.  I have been deliberating as to how to proceed.  So many questions … do I want to continue with individual blocks, each figurative and showing a stage in the story?  .. if so, how will I unify them? … and, are these really what I want to be doing? and on and on.

Then, a couple of days back, on my blog reading round,  synchronicity tapped me on the shoulder.  Dancing Crow (Lee) was writing about backgrounds and how she had spent nearly a year refining how she makes them.   One of those lightbulb moments for me … of course backgrounds!!!   Backgrounds, ground cloths are the starting point for any piece of work – it is what you work upon.   I had approached working on this particular story cloth without the base, without a real foundation.  No wonder I couldn’t see how to progress, I hadn’t given myself any roots.

I am now thinking that each one of these blocks is the beginning of individual story-cloths.

The initial compass block is a cloth unto itself – if it is going to expand then it needs to in the way it has started, ie with the same colour-ways, perhaps woven, perhaps pieced.  It may well become the story map – seems to be where it is leading me.  Willow’s starting point was at the centre of the compass after all.

Willow asleep on the second block speaks to me of a Dreaming cloth and I feel that this is what it will become – the story of the journey perhaps.  It will mean expanding it out somehow – or perhaps creating a ground onto which this can be placed.

As for the Lizard block, well Lizard is crying out for his own cloth – for his own story to be told.

Or ….. I could start over ….. I think not!  Having looked and looked and looked at each block, individual cloths will work and I feel so much happier having arrived at that decision.   It’s the combination I find difficult – too much writing – not enough listening to the cloth – too much in my head – not enough stitching.

So, essentially, I have the potential for three separate cloths.  It has taken me the better part of a year to get to this point, but I don’t feel that matters too much as it is all process and I am learning all the while – what I can and can’t do – how I want to work – what works for me and what doesn’t – all invaluable.   Reading that it took Lee nearly a year to refine her approach to her backgrounds shifted my thinking – how I love the internet for the way it connects us all!

Time to get on with it then eh :).

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Process, Willow Dreaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to on the ever spinning spiral back to the beginning?

  1. Linda D. says:

    Jill, I think all of your cloths are superb, but can empathise with your procrastination, lol. Going for 3 cloths sounds a lot of work but I agree, it feels right that each has their own cloth. Good luck – I look forward to seeing what you produce 🙂 x

  2. ahhtmasphere says:

    Using your 3 blocks, each as a starting point gives you room to expand on each, as you have said. I think your decision to proceed in this way makes good sense. I really liked your expression, “synchronicity tapped me on the shoulder”…. go with your gut feeling and you can’t go wrong. Process is just as important as product, and you have both right now…. with the opportunity to build on each piece of cloth. Go for it Jill.

  3. artemysos says:

    I am very excited to read the suite, Jill, I love your reasoning here and your courage to move out into “the universe” with all this!

  4. kate heshan says:

    there’s nothing like a good ‘lightbulb’ moment….everything coming together…keep going…keep stitching 🙂

  5. lee says:

    I think you are right that they could each be a separate piece – it sounds like you feel you need to unify them? or use each as the seed for a different beginning.

    They don’t speak to each other terribly well in the picture you have there. What happens if you work from the central compass piece and see what goes onto the edges?

  6. Pingback: Dreaming cloth growing | Land of Dreaming

Leave a Reply

