Elderberry dyeing

This was the first small batch I dyed using elderberries and their stalks, the top three pieces are plain cotton, the bottom some scrim.  I left all the berries/stalks etc in the dye pot when adding the fabrics.  Learning from my mistakes I won’t be doing that again – it took a lot of washing to get rid of all the squished berries which had adhered themselves like superglue to the pieces.  I strained the liquid and added more berries, steeped them for a day or so before straining the liquid again before adding more fabrics.

I love the difference in tones that have been achieved and were there more elderberries out back to be had I would by dyeing some more.  These pieces have held more colour as they didn’t have to be scrubbed to get rid of detritus :).    In both cases I added plain old distilled vinegar as a mordant.  There are various fabrics here, cotton, silk, slub silk, parachute silk, lace, linen plus a napkin and a doily.  Again the variant colours achieved make me very happy.

Next up, if I can find enough, will be dyeing with acorns … of course I shall have to beat the squirrels to them but a woman can try!

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Dyeing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Elderberry dyeing

  1. Linda D. says:

    Mmm. Do love your dyeing experiments. Fantastic the way the different fabrics end up in varying hues and shades.

  2. kate says:

    oooooo i love these…i@d love to try this

  3. gailkav says:

    I’ve used tea and mulberries, but I didn’t know elderberries gave colour – these are gorgeous.

  4. thanks for dropping by my blog, Jill.
    I love the dusty pinks you’ve achieved, and the varying tints.
    I have a book called Cheap Chic, from the 60’s but totally in fashion again, she suggested pairing dusty pinks with olive green army pants. It was my uniform for ages back then.

Leave a Reply

