Dreaming ground

is complete!  I am more than happy with how it has turned out – when piecing with small irregularly shaped bits of fabric it is difficult to really ‘see’ the whole.  It is hanging on my wall again and I am delighted – really, really chuffed!

From a little distance:

Squared off:

I am sure you can get the overall feel of the piece from these pics – the colours are much richer in fact but the light is not good.

Whilst I sit admiring this, smiling to myself and wondering where I shall go next with it, downstairs the eucalyptus pot now contains three cotton bundles which have been cooking all morning .  I have turned off the heat and will leave them to steep for, well , days probably – until I see some change in colour.

I am taking part in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which begins tomorrow.  I have no intention of writing a novel but am treating it much as the Get Your Art On Month, in that I hope taking part will encourage me to write every day.  I do intend to write about the character/s and place/s in Willow’s ‘story’ but in a totally stream of consciousness manner, no censoring, no editing.  Once the month is over I shall then go back through it all and see if there is anything of use ;)!   The aim is to write 50,000 words in total by the end of the month – that equates to almost 1700 words a day – no idea what that looks like but sounds a lot.  Eh well, I shall do what I do and I shall, above all else, enjoy!

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Process, Willow Dreaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dreaming ground

  1. Good luck with the writing in November – what a brilliant concept. I’ve read that the best way to write, is exactly as you describe – get it all down, but don’t attempt to edit in the same sitting. Keep us posted on how it’s going!

  2. vivian says:

    …I can see why you are so pleased with it: it is a beautiful piece of art!
    I´m all for putting up what we create in plain sight, it is like a window open to the depths of the soul!…I sometimes think of the pages of my “Book” as a Stargate!…
    🙂

  3. Linda D. says:

    Absolutely gorgeous cloth. Am in awe of your patience and how you work. Beautiful.
    Great that we’re both doing NaNoWriMo – I wasn’t sure at first but now am really pleased – thanks for the nudge!!! x

  4. Snail Cloth says:

    This cloth is amazing!! It is a meditation just to look at it. I am really amazed at how much writing you have done. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

