Hanging about

Since doing my dye experiments earlier this year the dyed cloths have been languishing in a heap …. time to stick ’em up on the wall and see what’s what.    Whilst I can see many ‘pictures’ within them what just struck me was that, with a bit of rearranging , how like a map they c/would look.

Yes, my mapping project is still underway – granted it’s mostly in my head, but that’s as good a place as any to start – I am getting better at this germinating stuff, not interfering, letting ideas simmer until I am ready to begin putting pen/pencil to paper, stitch to cloth etc. etc.  My sketchbook for the Sketchbook Project 2013 arrived this morning – they are no longer giving a long, long list of themes but are providing a much shorter list of categories, one of which is Atlas – hmm – synchronicity?  Maybe.  Seems like a kick up the proverbial  from somewhere though eh ;).

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Mapping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanging about

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I really like where this is heading with the dyed cloths! Sometimes letting something percolate for a good while in the unconscious yields a wonderful trajectory you might not have found otherwise.

  2. Linda D. says:

    Those cloths look wonderful and I can see how they could lend themselves to a map/s. As for the Sketchbook2013, I keep toying with the idea of an atlas as well. But then again, it could be just another sketchbook… will let the ideas ferment, lol.

Leave a Reply

