moon mapping?

No idea.  I wanted to leave the large cloths alone for a while – mind it’s cold enough to start working on them again now!   However, I have several small pieces that have been languishing so I decided to start doing something with them.   I have begun with the woven moon piece – it’s been stuck on the wall for months:

before:

after:

it is pinned to this piece:

together:

I hung it at the window to take the picture as I like the way the light plays with the layers of cloth.  That’s it for now – it may be a collaged piece – I quite fancy that, adding to as and when the mood/right bit of something grabs me.

Oh,  it is moon mapping simply because originally the tea/avocado dyed ground was going to be used for a map – maybe its destiny has changed, or maybe it hasn’t – I like what it’s doing right now,  all those lines and angles which make me think of strictness, structure and formality – but then – a gentle, soft circular motion sitting atop – perhaps it will ripple outwards.

About Jill

https://landofdreaming.wordpress.com An artist inspired by nature in all her glorious guises and the ‘inner’ worlds I have inhabited in the past, present and future; also those of other wanderers I meet along the way.
This entry was posted in Mapping, Moon map and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to moon mapping?

  1. Linda D. says:

    Mmm love what you’ve done, and your thinking on this. Intrigued to see where it goes next 🙂

  2. Edith says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Reminds me of a sort of contemporary take on kanthas. Gorgeous!

  3. Sunshine says:

    I like the idea of “moon mapping.” It puts me in mind of the moon’s journey across the sky, and the way you’re going about this is fun, whimsical–almost close to the telling of a myth…

  4. Suzanne says:

    I love the name ‘moon mapping’ it suggests some kind of journey through the mystic to me. The colours in your piece are gorgeous. The idea of dyeing cloth with tea and avocado really appeals to me. How did you dye with avocado?

    • Jill says:

      if memory serves I boiled up the skins and stones and then steeped for days, occasionally heating – this to make the dye liquid before putting the fabric in – once i put the fabric in – heat again to simmer gentle for a bit (i’m not a precise sort of person) – then, again, left for days on end to do its thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

